top of page

POP: Nuclear Prohibition Treaty

Updated: May 10, 2022

Since its passing in July 2017, 59 nations have signed the UN Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, and 10 nations have ratified it. Among them are former nuclear states South Africa and Kazakhstan, as well as European nations Austria and Ireland. The Treaty has also received overwhelming support from Central and South American nations, being ratified by Mexico and Venezuela, and signed by Brazil, Chile, Paraguay, Uruguay, Panama, Honduras, and more.

In light of the historic meeting between the leaders of the United States and the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK), UN House Scotland has distributed to MSPs a new Parliamentary One-Pager (POP) on the UN Treaty. By distributing this POP, UN House hopes to dispel myths about the Treaty in Parliament and increase support for the nuclear prohibition movement. View the full report below or download a copy.

91 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page