POP: Nuclear Prohibition Treaty

June 12, 2018

Since its passing in July 2017, 59 nations have signed the UN Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, and 10 nations have ratified it. Among them are former nuclear states South Africa and Kazakhstan, as well as European nations Austria and Ireland. The Treaty has also received overwhelming support from Central and South American nations, being ratified by Mexico and Venezuela, and signed by Brazil, Chile, Paraguay, Uruguay, Panama, Honduras, and more. 


In light of the historic meeting between the leaders of the United States and the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK), UN House Scotland has distributed to MSPs a new Parliamentary One-Pager (POP) on the UN Treaty. By distributing this POP, UN House hopes to dispel myths about the Treaty in Parliament and increase support for the nuclear prohibition movement. View the full report below or download a copy.




Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Featured Posts

Secure Scotland Seminar Report Available Now

July 31, 2019

Please reload

Recent Posts

February 11, 2020

Please reload